Italiano Deutsch English

The Regional Park of the Po Delta of the Emilia Romagna region was set up in 1988 through a special Regional Law (Regional Law 27/88) and is part of the system of the protected areas of Emilia Romagna. The park is divided into six “stations” around the southern area of the Po Delta, whose northern part belongs to the Veneto Region, along the coast of Ferrara and Ravenna and near Argenta. In 1999 the northern part of the territory was included in the Unesco site as World Heritage “Ferrara, city of the Renaissance and its Po Delta”.
Until 2011 the park was managed by a Consortium that was made up of the two provinces of Ferrara and Ravenna and of the nine municipalities (Comacchio, Argenta, Ostellato, Goro, Mesola, Codigoro, Ravenna, Alfonsine, Cervia) whose borders are within the park. Since January 2012, according to regional law no. 24 of December 23, 2011, the Park has been managed by the Managing body for Parks and Biodiversity – Po Delta”. The park has a consolidated and successful experience in the management of international projects, in particular in environmental protection and in the preservation of biodiversity. The abilities of the park and the scientific knowledge of the environment grew in the past few years, thanks to the contribution of universities and many scholars. Over the years the park has managed to ensure a higher sustainability of the different human activities, but it is also trying to reduce the conflicts between social and economic players. The park also carries out activities aimed at protecting biodiversity, carrying out many scientific studies and surveys aimed at increasing naturalistic knowledge, it also carries out activities aimed at teaching the value of biodiversity to new generations.
Thus it is a park with all the right numbers.

The numbers of the macro-area 4 - Po_Delta




To be constantly updated on the activities of the Management Body for Parks and Biodiversity - Po Delta

Subscribe Unsubscribe



Scientific Website of the Po Delta Park